Billy Ray Cyrus Announces ‘Thin Line’ Album, Drops ‘Hey Elvis’ as First Single


Billy Ray Cyrus has new music on the way: The country singer will release Thin Line through Blue Cadillac Music on Sept. 9.
Thin Line as a whole is described by Cyrus as “how I live my life; it’s a balance between art and reality.” That theme is found in each of the record’s 15 songs, the artist says. A complete track listing for Thin Line is below — and readers will notice that the project features a number of special guests, including Cyrus’ children Miley and Braison, Shooter Jennings, Aerosmith‘s Joe Perry and more.
September is a few months out, though, so in the meantime, Cyrus will be making three of Thin Line‘s 15 tracks available to fans. A cover of Don Williams‘ “Tulsa Time” will debut on July 8, while the disc’s title track will drop on Aug. 12. The third tune, “Hey Elvis,” is available now; it was written by Bryan Adams (who appears on the tune, along with Glenn Hughes) and Gretchen Peters, and its music video is below.
The “Hey Elvis” music video also serves as a promotional vehicle for Cyrus’ new CMT TV show, Still the King, which is scheduled to premiere on June 12 at 9PM ET. The show won’t be Cyrus’ first stint on television: He’s been acting since 1999, and in those 15-plus years, he’s appeared on The Love Boat: The Next Wave, played Dr. Clint Cassidy on Doc and starred in daughter Miley‘s Disney Channel show Hannah Montana.
“Hey Elvis” is available on iTunes now.
Billy Ray Cyrus’ Thin Line Track Listing:
1. “Thin Line” featuring Shelby Lynn
2. “Loving Her Was Easier (Than Anything I’ll Ever Do Again)”
3. “They’re Playin’ Our Song”
4. “My Heroes Have Always Been Cowboys”
5. “Stop Pickin on Willie”
6. “Sunday Morning Coming Down” featuring Shelby Lynn
7. “Tulsa Time” featuring Joe Perry
8. “Hillbilly On”
9. “Killing the Blues” featuring Shooter Jennings
10. “I’ve Always Been Crazy” featuring Shooter Jennings and Lee Roy Parnell
11. “Hey Elvis” featuring Bryan Adams and Glenn Hughes
12. “Help Me Make It Through the Night” featuring Kenley Shea Holm
13. “Home (Let It Find You)”
14. “Going Where the Lonely Go” featuring Braison Cyrus
15. “Angels Protect This Home” featuring Miley Cyrus

Read More: Billy Ray Cyrus Announces ‘Thin Line’, Drops 'Hey Elvis' |

Hey Elvis” Music Video Exclusive Premiere on CMT Hot 20 Countdown June 4 & 5

Billy Ray as a preacher

"Hey Elvis - you're still the king!" Tune into the CMT Hot 20 Countdown this Saturday 6/4 9AM ET for the World Premiere of my brand new music video for "Hey Elvis."

If you can't watch the Countdown on your TV, it will also stream starting at 9AM ET on here.




Hey Elvis Single Cover

Billy Ray’s new recording of “Hey Elvis” is available for digital download or as an immediate download from iTunes when pre-ordering his new album Thin Line. Here's your iTunes link.

 Like everything in music, it begins with a song. 

The song in question is “Hey Elvis” written by music greats Bryan Adams and Gretchen Peters. A song that Billy Ray Cyrus had fallen in love with 20 years ago. A song that means so much to him, this will be his second time recording it. As the scheduling gods would have it; Bryan Adams, Billy Ray Cyrus and the legendary Glenn Hughes all came together to create a rocked-out, gritty rendition of the classic tune, three unique forces each bringing their own sound. All in time for Hughes to be inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame as a member of Deep Purple. When asked about Hughes influence on the track, Cyrus cited: “He not only solidifies a magic pocket in the groove with his bass, but also injects The Voice of Rock onto the backend of the song.”

This is a project close to Cyrus’s heart. Perhaps because of the parallels between his career and Elvis Presley’s. During a rough patch in 1992 he received a letter from Johnny Cash saying: “Thirty-six years ago I was working with Elvis and saw him take the same kind of flak you’re taking now. Congratulations on the way you’re handling it all. In your case, as in Elvis’, the good outweighs the bad. Let ’em have it. I’m in your corner.” In addition to releasing “Hey Elvis” to the public, the track will be used as the theme song on CMT’s new TV show Still The King. Cyrus, who wrote and produced Still The King, conceived the idea while touring the Gulf Coast. A place rich in musical history and strong ties to some of Elvis Presley’s first performances. The ideas came quickly after. Still The King debuts on CMT June 12th 9/8C.